“Knowing me, knowing you ah-ha…”

In the last blog we introduced the Shine a Light Project, now meet the team!

The Team - Wayne Holland (left) Ann-Marie Peckham (centre) Dayna Woolbright (right)Outside the Esmee Fairbairn Offices in London

The Team – Wayne Holland (left) Ann-Marie Peckham (centre) Dayna Woolbright (right)
Outside the Esmee Fairbairn Offices in London

Ann-Marie Peckham – Project Supervisor

I have always had a passion for history. However, it is only since I completed my degree in History and Religious Studies and my MA Museum Studies that I became interested in how we interact with history, particularly within museums. I have continued to develop this interest during my Collections Internship at the Museum of Scottish Lighthouses and as Assistant Curator at the Museum of the Isles, Isle of Skye.

I often find that the places I’m most interested to visit in museums and historical sites are the ones that are closed off to the public (I’m not the only one – am I?!). So, I am thrilled to be supervising the project at Gressenhall to help provide the opportunity for the public to explore the variety of objects that we have here. While I have just started (I’m a week in!) I can already tell that Wayne, Dayna and I are going to have interesting time ahead….

Norfolk Museums & Archaeological Services recently started a teaching museums programme. Eight positions were created covering a variety of different departments in museums across all of Norfolk. The posts last for 12 months and are designed to equip trainees with the necessary skills to forge a career in the museums sector. Two of the new recruits are working on the Shine a Light Project…

Dayna Woolbright – Stored Collections Project Assistant

My background is in design and I undertook a BA (Hons) in design crafts at LowestoftCollege, during the three years I had the opportunity to experiment with photography, 3D- design, ceramics and textiles. After I finished my degree I decided I wanted to continue to work with things, objects that people like myself had created or crafted and fell completely in love with museums! I was amazed by the stories objects held and knew this was where I wanted to focus my career. I undertook a MA in Museum Studies which I studied long distance from LeicesterUniversity and volunteered at my local museum Time and Tide, which I really enjoyed. Working on the Shine a Light project is amazing and I’m extremely grateful to have been given this opportunity.

Wayne Holland – Stored Collections Project Assistant

I finished my undergraduate degree last summer; I studied Modern History (starting with the French Revolution and going right up to the 21st century in case you are wondering) and loved every second of it! I am new to museums; I had visited plenty and have very fond memories of being inspired by visits to Strangers Hall and the Castle museum when I was a child. But I never thought about them as somewhere I could work. As it happens it’s a perfect fit! I am very excited about being involved with the Shine a Light project; it is a fantastic opportunity to work with an amazing collection of social history objects. It’s really important that these objects are accessible to as many people as possible, so to be a part of this project is extremely rewarding.

Although we are working in the superstore on a daily basis there are numerous people from many departments across the service involved. These include conservators, curators, designers and members from the collections management team. Together we are working hard to ensure the project is a success. Keep following the blog as you will hear all about their work later!

Follow us on Twitter @NMASshinealight and Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Shine-a-Light-Project-Norfolk-Museums-and-Archaeology-Service/516183465100383

Did you know that our records are all online and fully searchable? To find what you’re looking for visit.

http://www.culturalmodes.norfolk.gov.uk/projects/nmaspub5.asp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Knowing me, knowing you ah-ha…”

  1. Reblogged this on Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse and commented:
    Meet the project team of the Shine a Light Project, based here at Gressenhall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

